Car Share Co-Op in Oak Cliff

A neighborhood car share program

DMN Transportation Post Spawns this Blog!

I must say that I didn’t expect to be writing this or really even take my idea that seriously, but today’s DMN Dallas Transportation Blog post by Rodger Jones titled, “Can Oak Cliff man launch car share co-op?” has made me rethink it and consider the opportunities that may or may not arise.

Basically, the idea I have is to create a co-op for people to share the expenses of operating a vehicle in Dallas county.  I have two main purposes: 1)Save money on maintaining a vehicle, and 2) Move to a one care household

My vehicle is a rare 2003 Jetta wagon TDI with 150,000 miles and another 150k waiting..If you’re not familiar with these engines, see this website devoted to them.  They’re very durable and get up to 50 mpg!  The idea would be to create a share for the vehicle based on a monthly fee that pays for expenses.  I’m not sure how that fee structure would look like to date, but will contemplate that if enough interest is generated.

If you’re interested in discussing more, please post a reply to this thread or email me at jrbraddick@gmail.com

One response to “DMN Transportation Post Spawns this Blog!

  1. הסעות April 7, 2011 at 8:22 am

    I love your site, It is a pleasure to visit.Thanks a lot for a bunch of good tips.
    הסעות

Leave a Reply

